Reina Rodriguez

Country of Origin:

Dominican Republic

Themes:

Citizenship, Immigration, Black History/African Heritage, Racism/Discrimination, Aboriginal Issues, Human Rights & Social Justice, Identity & Heritage, Multiculturalism & Diversity, Adjusting to Life in Canada

Photos:

  • Browse while you listen: images with relate to audio

play video

Bio

My Profesional Career Life and Achievements:

During my life time I have acccomplished with a lot of hard work and sacrifices the following. In the Dominican Republic:

a) R.P.N Nursing Tittle Certifcate from the Catholic Universty Madre y Maestra(UCAMAIMA)

b) Marketing Tech Certificate, from the Catholic University Madre y Maestra and (SEYCE)

c) Professional Salesperson Diploma, from the Instituto Santiago.

d) Medical Product Sales Representative Diploma, from the Instituto Santiago.

My Achievements in Canada.

a) English as a Second Language Training from Fleming College and a Cultural Interpreter Certificate of Participation.

I received a Toastmasters International Certificate of Participation for Public Speaking.

Awards:

a) Angel Wing Award Recognition, for Service above self by participating in the 2002

Salvation Army "Season of Caring"

b) Rising Leader Awards Certificate for attending the LeaderCast 2013

c) Certificate of Achievement, in recognition for volunteering time and effort as a Passage Speaker in 2016 and 2017.

d) Award Certifcate of Thanks, presented by the New Canadian Centre Peterborough for my ongoing volunteer particiaption for many years at the Multicultural Canada Day Festival.

Afiliations:

_ I am a member of the Peterborough Partnership Council on Immigrant Integration and the New Canadians Centre of Peterborough Women's Group.

_ I do volunteer work for the New Canadians Centre

_ I am a former member of the Catholic Women's League of Canada and did volunteer hours for St. Alphonsus Ligouri Catholic Church.

_ I am a Member of the Saint Anne's Womens Group.

_ Member of the Board of Directors at the Peterborough Native Learning Program.

Presently, I am also a part time student at Fleming College looking forwards to obtain my Validation of my Prior Learn Knowldge including Esthetics.

Story

I was born and raised in the City of Mao, Province of Valverde, Dominican Republic, then moved to the City of Santiago when I was a grade 10 student. I come from a family of pioneers. They were among the first settlers of the town where I was born and raised. My family members are well-educated, well known, and very loving and family-oriented. Most of them belong to the high society of the country who love to serve our country and the people. The other part of the family are farmers and live off from the land and always love to share their crops with their neighbours . They are very humble, reputable and very loved in the community. Very down to earth people. I am of Christian Catholic Faith.

As I mentioned before, I am very knowledgeable of natural holistic medicine and its practices which have been past down to us for generations. I left behind my nursing career to come and live in Canada with my Canadian husband, I arrived on February 4, 1994. I am proudly the mother of two beautiful children and have 2 grandchildren. Although they are now adults, for me they will be always my babies. I am the Owner and Founder of Reiana The 7th Holistic Health a Home Based Business Center which is right now not active until further notice. We are in the process of rebranding it, at the right time, so please stay tuned. I am very happy to be a Canadian Citizen. The only thing that saddens me a lot up to this point is, the fact of not having my family members here with me. I have only my children here, and none of my family have ever been to Canada. It has been a heartache. My heart has felt broken and torn apart between the two countries and the people that I love so much. My goal is to be able to assist both countries by promoting the positive sides of both cultures here and abroad.

I am a strong speaker that promotes and motivates positive thinking and self love and compassion, I defend the rights of the hopeless, abused, and helpless by telling it like it is were applies.

My Hobbies: I love to dance, to cook my favorite grandmother's recipes, to go sight seeing, reading, travelling and meeting with new people from all walks of life.

If anyone is interested on hiring me as a Speaker and Story Teller, to find out through my story telling "The Other Side of the Coin" based on my life struggles, pain, resilience and how I have overcome a life of abuse, please contact Passages Canada.